Established in 2012, The Principals are an experimental design studio balancing utility with a universal sense of wonder. The studio's focus ranges from the very small to the very big, always with the ultimate ambition of expanding our understanding of the world and fostering deeper connections with our environment.

The Principals work with a wide variety of clients; from designing spaces for clothing brands Everlane, AYR, NOMIA and KARA; to pavilions at gatherings like Bonnaroo and the Hudson Music Project; to interactive installations for MoMA PS1 the Ace HotelSonos, Microsoft and Ford - and products for the New Museum and Areaware. Their projects have received numerous awards and have been widely published in architectural and design journals in Germany, France, Thailand, Serbia and Italy as well as domestically in the NY Times, Metropolis Magazine, The Huffington Post, Bloomberg Business Week and Fast Company, among others. 

The Principals are also graduates of the first Museum-led incubator: NEW INC

768 Grand St. Brooklyn, NY 11211




  image by   Dan McMahon

image by Dan McMahon


Born In Baltimore, Maryland, Charles completed his Master's degree in Industrial Design at the Pratt Institute in 2008. Prior to this he received a bachelor's degree in sculpture from Towson University. Charles collaborated with John Gutierrez Studios before taking on an apprenticeship with sculptor Charles Parks in 2006. After receiving his Masters's degree, Charles became Design Director of Planterworx in Brooklyn, NY, and left in 2011 to start The Principals with Drew Seskunas.


Born not far from Charles in Baltimore in 1981, Drew studied architecture at the University of Maryland and later received his Master's from the Pratt Institute in New York. After moving to Paris in 2008 he began collaborating on architectural projects with the artist Arne Quinze, ultimately directing the Berlin office of SAQ Architects before returning to New York in 2011 to form The Principals.



Chris Williams

Ryan Griffin

Morgane Palacios

Marie Durand Yamamoto

Carolina Bertilsson

Dan Martinez

Caroline Favre

Lou van t'Reit

Shannon Blue

Mike Polisano